Large commercial trucks are a common sight on highways. When they’re involved in accidents, the consequences can be severe. There’s a significant difference between a fender bender with a car and a high-speed accident with a big rig. Individuals who have been wrongfully injured in a truck accident may suffer from major, catastrophic injuries that will require intensive medical treatment and could prevent them from working for a long time.
At these times, filing a lawsuit against the negligent party or parties could be in the victim’s favor. All personal injury lawsuits are governed by strict timelines, known as statutes of limitations, that depict when a claim can be filed. Here’s everything you need to know about Little Rock statutes of limitations in a truck wreck lawsuit:
Truck Accident Statutes of Limitations
Personal injury claims have a certain time limit in which they have to be filed. In Arkansas, a person has three years since the accident to file their case.
It’s important to get started on your case as soon as possible. Failing to file your claim on time could risk it being dismissed which means you won’t have a chance to get financial compensation.
When you file your claim on time, or quickly, then your lawyer may be able to see the accident site when they’re gathering evidence. A photograph could indicate an issue that shows you were not at fault. They will also have to show that your injuries were a result of the accident and will likely get medical documents as proof. You will be able to give a more accurate account of what happened because not a lot of time has passed. Waiting too long could mean you forget crucial details that help your case.
Another reason to start your case sooner rather than later is because you will most likely have medical expenses to afford. Reaching a settlement can sometimes take weeks or months, and you may be depending on that compensation to pay for treatment and care for the future. Waiting could mean pushing back the day you get your settlement and you won’t be able to afford those hospital bills, which could hurt you financially.
Fighting for Your Rights
After you file your claim, your lawyer will start putting together your case. It may be possible that the other party will try to put some of the blame on you. Arkansas operates by comparative fault laws, which mean that it may be proven that the person who caused the accident isn’t 100 percent at fault.
If a person was speeding and hit someone, then they are responsible for the accident and resulting damages. But what if the person they hit was texting and driving? Then part of the fault could be placed on them. Let’s say it was decided that the speeder was determined to be 90 percent at fault and the person texting was 10 percent at fault. The person texting and driving wouldn’t recover 100 percent of the damages because of their fault in the matter. So, they would recover 90 percent.
Our lawyers will do everything possible to prove that you weren’t partially at fault for your injuries. You deserve compensation that will help cover your medical costs and focus on your recovery.
McMath Woods P.A. believes in standing up for the citizens of Arkansas. We understand how devastating it can be to experience a semi truck accident. We’ll do everything possible to make sure the responsible party is held liable. Remember, it’s not always the truck driver’s fault. While it may have been an issue of exhaustion, a common issue with drivers, there’s also a chance the trucking company knowingly put an unsafe vehicle on the road, or the manufacturing company gave a faulty part that led to the accident.
Whatever the case, we’ll discover the truth and defend you. We’re ready to go up against companies that have unsafe practices and hurt innocent individuals. If you’ve been injured in a truck accident and believe negligence was at fault, get in touch with us today.