Arkansas Code Annotated 23-89-202 requires all automobile liability insurance policies in Arkansas to have $5,000 in medical payments benefits, commonly referred to as medpay, up to $7,280 in income disability benefits, and $5,000 in accidental death benefits. When these benefits are combined on an insurance policy, they are commonly referred to as personal injury protection or PIP.
Although PIP benefits are required by Arkansas law, Arkansas drivers can reject them by doing so in writing when they purchase their policy of insurance. See Ark. Code Ann. 23-89-203.
McMath Woods encourages all Arkansas drivers to purchase PIP benefits. PIP benefits make up a small fraction of the cost of most auto insurance policies and the benefits apply to injuries from car wrecks regardless of fault. PIP benefits can greatly help if you or your loved ones are injured in a motor vehicle collision.